



Brussels, 25 January 2022 Ref.:022-002-GA-CN-LD

# Subject: Annual General Assembly 2022 – Nomination of delegates and of candidates to governing bodies elections.

Dear Members,

Hereby I would like to inform you that the next EDF Annual General Assembly (AGA) will take place from 25<sup>th</sup> to 26<sup>th</sup> June 2022 in Athens (GR). There will also be a meeting of the newly elected Board of Directors.

Please note that this year elections will take place for the renewal of all EDF governing bodies. Their mandate will last until June 2026.

#### **1. Procedure for the nomination of official delegates**

According to the EDF Statutes the procedure for the nomination of AGA delegates of National Councils, full and ordinary ENGOs will be applied in line with the provisions of EDF Internal Rules.

National Councils are entitled to nominate two delegates each. <u>Only</u> <u>official delegates can vote at the General Assembly</u>. In addition, EDF elected Board members from National Councils will be delegates to the General Assembly in their own right.

A strong recommendation is made to National Councils to have both genders represented in their delegation (Article 13 of EDF Statutes).

Please note that <u>only organizations that have paid their membership fees</u> <u>until the financial year preceding the Annual General Assembly (2021) are</u> <u>entitled to nominate delegates</u>.

## The names of the delegates must be communicated in writing via registration form sent by the secretariat.

## 2. Procedure for the presentation of candidates to EDF Governing Bodies (2022-2026)

<u>Please note that only nominated AGA official delegates are entitled to</u> <u>participate as candidates to the election of EDF governing bodies.</u>

The following bodies will be elected at the next AGA:





- a) EDF President;
- b) EDF Board of Directors;
- c) Membership and Credentials Committee;
- d) Finance Committee;
- e) EDF Executive Committee (to be elected by the newly elected Board of Directors at its first meeting)

#### a) EDF President

The EDF President will be elected by all AGA delegates (Art. 10.3 of the Internal Rules). Individuals who want to apply for the position of President will have to be proposed by a full member and must be a person with disabilities or a parent of person(s) with disabilities unable to represent themselves. (Art. 10.3. of the internal rules)

#### b) The EDF Board of Directors

The EDF Board of Directors will be elected by AGA delegates (Art. 10.3. of the internal rules).

The Board of Directors is composed of 28 full members (16 from National Councils + 12 from ENGOs) and 2 members elected by ordinary members.

- The delegates from National Councils elect among themselves 16 delegates from National Councils to become members of the Board;
- The delegates from full member ENGOs elect among themselves 12 delegates from ENGOs to become members of the Board;
- The delegates from ordinary member ENGOs, elect among themselves 2 delegates from different ordinary ENGOs to become members of the Board.

.

### c) **Membership and Credentials Committee** (Art. 10.3. of the Internal Rules)

The membership and credentials committee is composed of five members, four of which are elected, and the Secretary, who will chair the Committee. The four elected posts will be allocated as follows:

- 2 members shall come from the National Councils;
- 2 members shall come from full member ENGOs.

All delegates to the General Assembly elect the members of the Membership and Credentials Committee.

d) **Finance Committee** (art. 10.3 and art. 14 of the internal rules)

The Finance Committee is composed of five members, four of which are elected, and the Treasurer, who shall chair the Committee. The four elected posts will be allocated as follows:





- 2 members shall come from the National Councils;
- 2 members shall come from full member ENGOs.

All delegates to the General Assembly elect the members of the Finance Committee.

e) <u>The Executive Committee</u> will be elected by the newly elected Board (Art 11.2. of the internal rules)

The newly elected Board elects 10 Executive Committee members, five of which are representatives from National Councils and five of which are representatives from full member ENGOs;

- (a) Vice president;
- (b) Vice president;
- (c) Treasurer;
- (d) Secretary;
- (e) 6 members without portfolio.

Executive Committee members are individuals who are permanent representatives of Board member organizations.

Candidates may run for different positions in the Executive Committee. In case of being elected to a position, their nominations to other positions will be withdrawn.

In order to ensure parity between both full membership categories, the following voting procedure is applied:

- To vote all the positions successively in the order listed above (from a) to e);
- If the most successful candidate for a) comes from an ENGO, the following position (b) will be allocated to the most voted candidate coming from a National Council and vice versa. The same applies to (c) and (d);
- For e) the remaining six seats of the Executive Committee, the three most voted candidates from National Councils and the three most voted candidates from European NGOs will be elected.

Nominations can be submitted to more than one governing body.

### According to the EDF Statutes, the deadline to submit nominations to all positions is set, by <u>Thursday March 31<sup>st</sup>, 2022</u>.

#### **Procedure for submitting an application:**

- > Applications of candidates must be presented by an organisation in writing;
- > The letter must indicate the name of the delegate(s) and the position(s) to which he/she/they are running;
- > Applications should include a brief presentation of the candidate(s).

For any further enquiry, please do not hesitate to contact Loredana Dicsi at the EDF Secretariat, Tel.: +32/2/239.00.56, E-mail: <u>loredana.dicsi@edf-feph.org</u>





Yours sincerely,

Gunta ANCA Chair EDF Membership and Credentials Committee