skip to content

ICCPR : The text

The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) consists of 6 parties and 53 articles. It guarantees the equal right of men and women to enjoy all civil and political rights set out in the ICCPR.

The main rights protected are:

1: the right of peoples to self-determination and to freely dispose of their wealth and natural resources
6: the right to life
7: prohibition of torture and cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment
8: prohibition of slavery and forced labour
9: the right to liberty and security and the prohibition of arbitrary detention
10: humane treatment and respect for the dignity of persons deprived of their liberty
14: equality before the courts and tribunals
15: the principle of non-retroactivity of the Act
16: the right to recognition as a person before the law
17: the right to privacy
18: the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion, as well as the freedom to manifest one's religion
19: freedom of opinion and expression and the conditions under which this freedom may be restricted
20: the prohibition of all propaganda for war and any advocacy of national, racial or religious hatred
21: recognition of the right to peaceful assembly
22: the right of association including the right to form trade unions
23: the right to found a family
25: the right to take part in the conduct of public affairs, to vote and to be elected by universal and equal suffrage
26: the right to equality before the law
27: cultural rights of ethnic, religious or linguistic minorities