skip to content
Belgian Disability Forum

SP.A

For SP.A, Nick Mouton notes that the European Union is developing very good legislation and strategies overall. The 2010-2020 strategy is an excellent example of this. But it must now be implemented in practice.

The problem is that there is a big difference between the texts and reality. The alternative report of the BDF has demonstrated this very well: it reflects what is actually happening on the ground - in practice - in response to the official report of Belgium.

The European Union must create an environment conducive to the integration of people with disabilities, a framework in which anything is possible. The Union has the opportunity to provide the necessary resources.

The employment situation is particularly difficult for people with disabilities: if the economy is running badly, who are the first victims? The weakest, including many people with disabilities.

In the field of poverty reduction, it is essential that the interventions are raised above the poverty line.

Finally, European subsidies must be better managed and used. This can be done by providing more support and by strengthening the small structures that help people with disabilities.

aller au contenu
Belgian Disability Forum

SP.A

Pour le SP.A, Nick Mouton, a insisté sur le fait que l’Union européenne a mis en place des textes législatifs et des stratégies qui sont globalement très bons. La stratégie 2010-2020, par exemple, est très bien. Mais elle doit maintenant être concrétisée pratiquement.

Le problème est qu’il existe une grande différence entre les textes et la réalité. C’est ce qu’a très bien démontré le rapport alternatif rédigé par le BDF : il montre ce qui se passe réellement sur le terrain, dans la pratique, en réponse au rapport officiel de la Belgique.

L’Union européenne doit créer un climat favorable à l’intégration de la personne handicapée, un cadre dans lequel tout peut devenir possible. Elle a la capacité de mobiliser les moyens nécessaires.

La situation en matière d’emploi est particulièrement difficile pour les personnes handicapées : si l’économie ne fonctionne pas bien, qui sont les premières victimes ? Ce sont les personnes les plus faibles, parmi lesquelles beaucoup de personnes handicapées.

Au niveau de la lutte contre la pauvreté, il est essentiel que le niveau des allocations soit placé au-dessus du seuil de pauvreté.

Enfin, il faut mettre en place une meilleure gestion de l’utilisation des subsides européens : en favorisant l’accompagnement et en renforçant les petites structures d’aide aux personnes handicapées.